top of page

Weekly Blog #1: 8/23-9/4

The first two weeks in the Independent Study and Mentorship have exposed me to a new learning environment. Going into the application process of the program, I knew that the class would be very self-driven, but even after the first day, I understood that I needed to set goals for myself because of how the class is meant to enrich a student’s learning experience. Due to the fact that I am the person who chooses the topic I am studying and I am passionate about said topic, I am the person responsible for that learning, which is an atmosphere that I have never been in before.Throughout the past two weeks, I have learned what my body language should convey when presenting a professional speech and how to conduct myself in front of a room of professionals. While the class is certainly workload heavy, I am more intrigued than ever because there is no limit to how much material I can learn due to the fact that I am the one driving my learning. My passion for pediatrics and creative writing has no bounds in ISM and I am excited to move past the formatting stage and am ready to start researching about the career path that I wish to travel down. In the next week in ISM, I hope to research about more of the logistics of the pediatric field and begin my start for potential mentors to learn from.


Recent Posts
No tags yet.
bottom of page